10th Muharram: The Day of Ashurah

14694925_1742299999350132_466789296_n.jpgImage Credits

Recently, we witnessed the day of Ashurah  which is known as 10th Muharram. Muharram is considered as one of the most significant months in the Muslim world. As you probably already know, Muḥarram is the first month of the Islamic calendar. It is one of the four sacred months of the year. The day of Ashurah always reminds me of Hazrat Nuh (A.S) and my childhood as well. In Turkey, I remember I would impatiently wait for the day of Ashurah as we would prepare a special dish. Ashure is a popular Turkish dessert, also known as Noah’s pudding that is traditionally made on the 10th of Muharram. Truthfully, I still await the day because ashure is my favorite sweet. I remember how my grandmother would make ashure in a huge pot for our family.

On the day of Ashurah , I would sit with my grandparents and listen to their stories about Prophet Nuh (A.S). My grandfather would recall how Allah had saved him and his companions in the ark. I would also spend my day tasting the ashure, to ensure it was cooked properly as my elders would be fasting. I would then distribute the delicacy with my mom to all of our neighbors. In return, we would also receive sweets from them. We made sure to leave the ashure at everybody’s doorstep even if they were not at home. I clearly remember how I used to leap with joy when I would set my eyes on all the different plates of ashure. I would taste every single dish. As I grew up, I learned more about the importance of the day.

Let us summarize the timeline of events that took place on the 10th of Muharram; –

  • Allah  saved  Nuh (A.S) and his companions in the ark.
  • Allah delivered victory to Hazrat Musa(A.S) and his people and drowned Pharoah and his people. Sayyidina Musa observed fast out of gratitude.
  • Allah  accepted the repentance of Adam (A.S) after his exile from Paradise.
  • Allah extinguished the fire in which  Ibrahim (A.S) was thrown by Nimrood.
  • Allah spoke directly to Sayyidina Musa and gave him the Commandments.
  • Ayyub (A.S)was restored to health (from leprosy)
  • Yusuf (A.S) was reunited with his father Ya’qub (A.S)
  • Yunus (A.S) was taken out from the belly of the fish.
  • The sea was divided as the nation of Israel was delivered from captivity and Pharoah’s army was destroyed.
  • Dawud (A.S) was forgiven; the kingdom of Sulaiman (A.S) was restored.
  • Isa (A.S) was raised to Jannah.

Until till then, all the events that took place on the 10th of Muharram were joyous. Sadly, Muharram is the same month when Hazrat Hussain (R.A), the grandson of the Prophet Muhammad (PBUH), was brutally massacred in Karbala alongside his family and friends in the year 680 CE/61 AH. It is considered as the Day of Remembrance for all Muslims. We should offer special prayers in the month of Muharram as it holds great significance. May Allah bless us all.

Written by: Hacer Çapraz

hacer bio

4 thoughts on “10th Muharram: The Day of Ashurah

Leave a comment