How to Start Your Copywriting Career in Pakistan

So I’ve been in the copywriting business for almost 3 years now. The road’s been bumpy but there’s so much that I’ve learned in these few years. Today, I’m writing this post for youngsters, students and aspiring writers who’d like to gain some independence and start earning on their own. Hopefully, these pointers will provide you a sense of direction in terms of your career. Here goes:

1. Achi angrezi does not necessarily equate to good writing skills. Just like any other skill, your writing skills can only be honed by practice. There’s no way around it.
2. Please evaluate your writing skills before adopting this profession. Work on your grammar and read articles about writing content. At this point, nobody can teach you how to write. You’ll have to work on these things yourself.
3. If you’re an absolute newbie (with no contacts), I’d suggest you start your career by working for an organization before becoming a full-time freelancer. I started off with a nominal wage and then worked my way up. You’ll learn a lot from your seniors plus it’ll add credibility to your resume. When I started my career, I knew nothing about content writing but I learned a lot just by reading what my colleagues wrote.
4. If you’re freelancing, please visit the person’s profile before moving forward. I’ve heard of a lot of horror stories about writers not getting paid for their work. You might call it a stroke of luck but that’s something I’ve never experienced.. so far anyway. I’m very particular about who I work for so I’d say being picky definitely pays off.
5. Never stop learning. Period. You’ll have to be very versatile and there will be challenges down the road so be prepared.
6. The client is always right. If that’s something you can’t deal with, there’s virtually no point in carrying things forward with said client.

For now.. that’s it Please free feel to add to the list. I’m sure a lot of new content writers will learn from your experiences (I’m sure I will too)

By: Marvi Masud 

marvi-bio

Leave a comment